thebuypass

Enough is enough – we swear off shopping for a year

The ruched skirt

alex wangI am a woman at war with the fact of her hips, so why am I pining for a ruched skirt by T by Alexander Wang?

Well the model looks so darn effortlessly cool in it on the La Garconne site and if I just got the ruching right you might not notice the rather doughy extremes hiding beneath the folds. I love it, it speaks “breezy summer” to me. And yet.

Not this year. Ok. Fine. Be that way.

So, is it possible that in the piles of clothes I already own there is lurking something similar? I checked the scary drawer where a lot of items have gone to die and what did I discover…..a lonely navy knee length skirt by The Row which surely I could fit into if I just skipped lunch a few times this week. A Donna Karan black skirt, longer, with a sort of cross over front thing (which frames my stomach pudge rather perfectly, this may take more work than simply skipping lunch.) A longer double jersey skirt that might look ruched if I twisted it a bit.

In my hesitation over ordering this skirt two amazing things happened. It is no longer available in my size, whew. And, it seems Mr. Wang does this skirt or versions thereof every year. It’s a “classic” shall we say. We can revisit in 2014.

And meanwhile I can live with The Row, something probably just had to have with the same feverish intensity. It will do.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 4, 2013 by in Do I already own that?.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

