thebuypass

Enough is enough – we swear off shopping for a year

Chanel or…Celine?

celine again.If this is the year I’m not shopping, then this is year I’m planning.

I always try to buy a “piece”, a must-have, a statement, something of enduring iconic value on milestone birthdays. It’s how I got my Hermes Double Tour, collier de chien bracelet, and it is how I’m thinking about my next Important Bag.

I thought it would be a Chanel 2.55. Why? Chanel herself designed it as a means of emancipation. It was a shoulder bag, perhaps the invention of the very first, to let the hands be free to punch in the nose would-be thieves or gropers. The strap is chain, to thwart slicing by the thieves. It has a secret inner pocket where a woman can hide her cab fare should she have to make a speedy exit. It has no logos, why herald such bourgeois things as brands.

So I went to visit a 2.55 at the Chanel boutique recently. Here’s the thing. I didn’t like the leather. I didn’t like the soft rounded corners. And OMG is that Kim Kardashian??chanel 2.55

Eegads what’s my object of desire now? Hermes bags are too, too expensive; Chanel is barely in sight.

I’d contemplated the Celine Classic at one time, but that seems frankly like a seasonal item. Sorry but it does.

The new Celines are elegant, the newest horizontal zip number is great looking but I have a similarly shaped and zipped YSL and find it a pain in real life.

So what to do what to do? Even when I’m NOT shopping I’m ferklempt about the shopping.

I have a year to decide…..

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 24, 2013 by in The Pass- What I would have bought had I not come up with this stupid idea.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

